師友關係心態:給導師和導生的提醒

簽署同意書,訂下期許。配對成功後,導師及導生應立刻進入資源庫填寫西北大學人脈網導師計畫同意書(點此連結:師友關係協議書),確認彼此對這段關係的期許。導師和導生需在同意書中列出對此關係的目標–這是締造成功師友關係的關鍵因素。欲深入瞭解如何設定目標,歡迎參考下列資源:設定目標:什麼是SMART目標?設定目標:訂目標的過程中必須解答的關鍵疑惑設定目標:SMART目標工作清單和列表

盡量面對面互動。倘若可行,我們鼓勵您見面談話:面對面對話是最有意義、對當事人也最具影響力的互動方式。如果您無法見面,我們建議導師和導生透過視訊服務對談,如Skype、FaceTime、或 Google Hangouts。

互利互惠。正確的師友關係對導師和導生都有益處。要達到互利互惠,雙方皆須費心經營這段關係,開門見山地探討各自需求以及對關係的期待。導師和導生都應深思熟慮,並與彼此分享各自希望有何收穫。

維護隱私,誠實坦白。導師及導生應協力經營隱私保密氛圍,這對建立互信關係至關重要。個人要能成長,誠信坦白為關鍵,而作為專業人士,承認錯誤及認清自己能力的極限則能幫助您從錯誤中學習,成長茁壯。

認真訂定目標。設定明確且可評量的目標至關重要。師友關係一類的夥伴關係,成功的關鍵就是要在深思熟慮後設定清楚且可量化評量的目標,畢竟目標指引人們努力的方向。達成目標是推展此關係的動力,故每次見面或互動,都應該驗收成效。請認真看待設定目標的過程,利用各種表單和相關資源來輔助目標設定。請至資源庫,參考下列網頁資源:設定目標:什麼是SMART目標?設定目標:訂目標的過程中必須解答的關鍵疑惑設定目標:SMART目標工作清單和列表

回饋與分享。NAA會要求您定期更新近況。此計畫執行為期尚短,希望您願意隨時與我們分享您的經驗和建議,協助計畫更臻完美。

The Mentorship Mindset: Reminders and Advice for both Mentors and Mentees

Establish an agreement and set expectations. When matched, mentors and mentees should immediately establish a set of expectations for the mentorship relationship by completing the Northwestern Network Mentorship Program Agreement Form, found in the Resources Section or by visiting this link: Mentorship Agreement Form. The agreement asks mentors and mentees to list their goals for the relationship, which is a critical component to the success of a mentorship relationship. Learn more about setting your goals by using these resources: Goal Setting: What is a SMART Goal?, Goal Setting: Essential Questions to Ask to Facilitate the Goal-Setting Process, Goal Setting: SMART Goals Worksheet and Checklist.

Meet in person when possible. We encourage you to meet face-to-face whenever possible. In-person discussions tend to be the most meaningful and impactful for both parties. If you are not able to meet face-to-face, we encourage mentors and mentees to connect via webcam using services like Skype, FaceTime, or Google Hangouts.

Strive for mutual benefits. A mentorship relationship, when done right, is mutually beneficial for both parties. The key to achieving this is taking the time be thoughtful and upfront about your needs and expectations for the relationship. Both the mentor and mentee should spend time thinking about what they want out of the relationship and share that with each other.

Commit to confidentiality and honesty. Mentors and mentees should commit to maintaining an environment of confidentiality. This is a critical component in building trust and rapport between one another. In order to truly develop as an individual, committing to honesty and transparency is critical; admitting your mistakes and limitations as a professional will help you to learn from your mistakes and grow from them.

Take goal-setting seriously. We cannot stress enough how important it is to articulate clear and measurable goals. Setting thoughtful, clear, and measurable goals is critical to the success of a mentorship partnership because goals give you something toward which to strive. Goals also enable you to measure the success of the partnership. Achieving your goals should be what drives the relationship forward and checking on your progress should be something that you do in every interaction or meeting. Take the goal-setting process seriously and use our worksheets and goal-setting resources to help facilitate the process of writing goals. These resources can be found in the Resources Section or by visiting these links: Goal Setting: What is a SMART Goal?, Goal Setting: Essential Questions to Ask to Facilitate the Goal-Setting Process, Goal Setting: SMART Goals Worksheet and Checklist.

Share feedback and ideas about the program. You should expect to hear from the NAA periodically asking for updates on your progress. As this is a new program, we hope that you will take every opportunity to share your experience and suggestions for improvement. You can always send feedback directly to mentor@northwestern.edu.