導生有哪些責任?

  • 請自主推動關係發展。主動出擊,聯繫導師,準時回覆所有通訊,主動約導師見面。小提示:每次道別前主動詢問「下次何時見面?」以便當場比對日程,約定下次會面日期。
  • 請訂下對師友關係的期許,約定何時與導師在何種情況下聯繫(請參 師友關係協議書)。
  • 請遵守並致力於執行與導師訂下的共同期許和目標。
  • 請抱持開放心態,聆聽導師的建議和回饋。批評的唯一目的是幫助您在職業上有所成長。
  • 請以尊重、專業及開放的態度看待師友關係。
  • 每次互動時都請謹記自己和導師的師友關係目標。自我提醒初始目標將有助於掌握成長進度,建立成功的師友關係。
  • 師友關係可能會自然消亡,倘若您在關係開始之初設定的所有目標都已達成,那麼或許是時候尋找新的導師,以協助您達成新的目標了。倘若雙方都同意,那麼導師和導生可以持續會面(可能較不頻繁),或可以在簡單致謝後分道揚鑣,追尋新的師友關係。我們強烈建議您持續與導師保持聯繫,隨著職涯發展向導師更新您的近況。有些師友關係甚至能夠持續一輩子,畢竟一日為師,終身為友!
  • 請定期傳送回饋或建議至 mentor@northwestern.edu。這是個頗有發展空間的新計畫,歡迎您提出回饋。
  • 請與您的同學和西北大學人脈分享您的體驗!此計畫的成長和推廣需要您口耳相傳。



「西北大學人脈網對我而言真是無價之寶。我覺得每次見到西北校友都好像能夠瞬間建立某種跟其他人無法建立的情誼,畢竟我們有相同的經驗 - 我們可能上過同樣的課程,為同個球隊加油打氣,參加同樣的學生組織 - 至少我們都曾體驗過從西北大學畢業必經的煎熬。這樣共同的經歷有助建立最初的信任和友誼,除了西北人脈之外,實在很難能可貴。」

~ Alex Van Atta 2015 學年度畢業生

What is Expected of Mentees?

  • Drive the relationship. Be the first to make contact with your mentor, respond to all communications in a timely manner, and take the initiative to set up consistent in-person meetings. One tip is to always end each meeting “when should we meet next?” so that you can get a date on the calendar after comparing both of your schedules.
  • Set your relationship expectations right away about when and how you will connect with your mentor (see the Mentorship Agreement Form to help guide that conversation).
  • Agree and commit to the expectations and goals you set with your mentor.
  • Be receptive to suggestions and feedback from you mentor. Criticisms will only be offered in an effort to help you grow professionally.
  • Approach your mentorship relationship with respect, professionalism and an open mind.
  • Keep your goals and those of your mentor in mind during every interaction. Remind yourself, what goals did we set out to accomplish? This will help you keep track of your progress and help lead toward a successful mentorship relationship.
  • Be mindful of when the relationship has reached its natural end; if all of the goals you set have been achieved then it may be time to find another mentor to tackle another set of goals. If you both would like to, you can continue to meet (though likely with less frequency) or you can simply thank them and move on to start another mentorship relationship. We do strongly encourage you to stay in touch with your mentor and keep them updated on your progress as you move through your career. Some mentorship matches can be lifelong!
  • Send your feedback and suggestions for improvement periodically to mentor@northwestern.edu. As this is a new and developing program, we’d greatly appreciate your candid feedback.
  • Tell your classmates and members of your Northwestern network about your experiences! As a growing program, we rely on word of mouth referrals to promote the program.



“The Northwestern Network is invaluable to me. I feel like whenever I meet someone that also graduated from Northwestern, there’s an instant connection that is difficult to instantly form with anyone else. We both have had common experiences – maybe we’ve taken the same class, cheered for the same team, been a part of the same student group – or at least we can identify with the amount of hard work that is required to graduate from Northwestern. That common experience forms an initial level of trust and friendship that is rare outside of the Northwestern Network."

~ Alex Van Atta, ’15